QR Code
September 21 • 03:15
flag image

World #1 Novak Djokovic Named 2011 US OPEN MEN'S TOP SEED

August 24, 2011
Five Grand Slam Singles Champions Among the Seeded Players

Including Four Former US Open Champions

FLUSHING, N.Y., August 24, 2011 – The USTA announced today that world No. 1 Novak Djokovic of Serbia, the reigning Australian Open and Wimbledon champion, has been named the top seed in men's singles at the 2011 US Open. The 2011 US Open will be played at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y., August 29 – September 11. The US Open Men's Singles Championship is presented by Mercedes-Benz USA.

Djokovic, a three-time Grand Slam champion who is seeking his first US Open title, is the No. 1 seed at the US Open for the first time. He will be followed by No. 2 Rafael Nadal of Spain, the defending US Open champion; No. 3 Roger Federer of Switzerland, a five-time US Open champion; and No. 4 Andy Murray of Great Britain, the 2008 US Open runner-up.

For 2011, the US Open followed the ATP World Tour rankings to determine the men's singles seeds. This is the tenth consecutive year that the US Open has seeded 32 players in both singles events.

Djokovic, 24, holds a 57-2 record leading up to this year's US Open. He has won nine titles this year, including five ATP World Tour Masters Series events, along with his second Australian Open and first Wimbledon titles. Djokovic is a two-time US Open runner-up; he lost to Nadal last year, and to Federer in 2007.

For the first time in his career, Mardy Fish will be the highest-seeded American at No. 8. 2003 US Open champion Andy Roddick is seeded No. 21 and John Isner is seeded No. 28.

The singles draws for the 2011 US Open will be revealed live during a one-hour special edition of SportsCenter on ESPN, Thursday, August 25 at 12 PM ET. Defending US Open men's champion Rafael Nadal will make an appearance from the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y.

2011 US Open Men's Singles Seeds

1. Novak Djokovic, Serbia

2. Rafael Nadal, Spain

3. Roger Federer, Switzerland

4. Andy Murray, Great Britain

5. David Ferrer, Spain

6. Robin Soderling, Sweden

7. Gael Monfils, France

8. Mardy Fish, United States

9. Tomas Berdych, Czech Republic

10. Nicolas Almagro, Spain

11. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, France

12. Gilles Simon, France

13. Richard Gasquet, France

14. Stanislas Wawrinka, Switzerland

15. Viktor Troicki, Serbia

16. Mikhail Youzhny, Russia

17. Jurgen Melzer, Austria

18. Juan Martin Del Potro, Argentina

19. Fernando Verdasco, Spain

20. Janko Tipsarevic, Serbia

21. Andy Roddick, United States

22. Alexandr Dolgopolov, Ukraine

23. Radek Stepanek, Czech Republic

24. Juan Ignacio Chela, Argentina

25. Feliciano Lopez, Spain

26. Florian Mayer, Germany

27. Marin Cilic, Croatia

28. John Isner, United States

29. Michael Llodra, France

30. Ivan Ljubicic, Croatia

31. Marcel Granollers, Spain

32. Ivan Dodig, Croatia

Reader Feedback Submission
Use this form to submit Reader Feedback. Your submission will be reviewed by our staff before appearing on the Web site.
* required value
Your Name*

Email (not shown on website)*